What I’m enjoying back in Ohio

walking my dog on sidewalks

smelling lilac in the air

wearing jeans and a long sleeve t-shirt and NOT SWEATING!!

driving without people passing me on the inside and outside of a two lane road

not having cars randomly park or stop in the middle of the road

very little honking

cheddar cheese!

Yuenling beer

time with family and friends

being surrounded by a language I understand

No one telling me they don’t have the right change–(How is that possible? You are a ‘fill-in-the-blank’ store

Not having to light my stove with a match-still scares me every time

My son loving the basketball hoop in our driveway and ESPN sports

Netflix

 

Other random things I’ve noticed:

Pollen is making me sneeze for the first time in my life. Must be 9 months with almost no pollen, makes your sinuses adjust

People are TIED to their cell phones in a way that I did not miss at all in Senegal

People text and drive here very frequently? Seriously? What’s the hurry

It’s lovely to be able to look something up on the internet and then make a phone call to that business and ask a question and understand the answer

Store clerks are impatient with my use of cash

 

I have not missed:
Smelly skunks!

Road kill! deer, raccoon, skunk, rabbit, ugh

About bestbookihavenotread

Kristine has been in education since 1993. She taught fourth grade in Ohio from 1993 - 2008. She has been a Curriculum Coordinator for four years. She is relocating to Dakar, Senegal to be the Director of Curriculum for the International School of Dakar in August 2012.
This entry was posted in expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I’m enjoying back in Ohio

  1. Traci says:

    Hahahaha! How long are you in Ohio?

  2. Lisa Steele says:

    So true about the cell phones! Welcome back! Lisa

  3. Kim Clark says:

    no kidding on the cell phones. I’m sick of them.

    Welcome home 🙂

Leave a comment